It is very important for self-publishers to have their manuscript properly edited and proof read, and don’t forget the cover! The first impression of your book is important. Tips for good cover design….

Humble Nations

I have been a professional graphic designer for more years than I can now remember and have designed more things than I care to name (but will): T-shirts, CD covers, packaging, Ebay listings, websites, flyers, posters, letterheads, signage … the list goes on. But strangely enough, until I decided to put some of my own stories on Amazon through KDP, no book covers.

Through my lurking on the KDP Forums, and checking out the competition in the last 4 month, I’ve seen hundreds of terrible, hideous,  trashy, horrid, nasty, vomit-inducing book covers that break every rule of good design.

Boy these people must really love losing potential readers, I thought to myself at first.

But then more kindly, thought: well they probably don’t know about design.

So rather than being a Mr-Know-It-All, I figure it’s about time I sat down and put some of my thoughts down to help out…

View original post 3,065 more words

Leave a Reply

